Baltimore Writer

Home Page

My name is Gerard Marconi and my collection of short stories entitled "Searching for Paradise" was awarded the Best Short Fiction prize by the editors of Self Publishing Review. Here is a quote from their review of the book.
 
"Stories haunt and grow, much like the prose itself. It's a difficult genre to succeed in, and here Marconi has got it spot on and even found a new way of doing it right… one of the few male writers in my opinion who seems to express his entire inner world with some intuition."


To order an e-book of this work, go to the following website:
      http://booklocker.com/books/7083.html

The image on the cover depicts Adam and Eve being tempted by a human headed serpent in the Garden of Paradise, a 16th century terra cotta relief from the Walters Art Museum in Baltimore. Some of the stories are about the search for immortality and eternal life. Others are about the creation of art and the imitation of nature here on earth. Some are about the yearning of for love and understanding, while others deal with what happens when we experience the opposite. A museum guard helps capture a thief even as he dreams of stealing a famous painting. An anthropologist seeks to unravel the mystery of an ancient fertility figure while coping with his own flagging libido. A zealous young man tries to convert a gay couple just before the Apocalypse. Andy Warhol recalls his childhood but forgets to wear his silver wig on his last trip to the hospital. And Samuel Beckett finds himself in hell despite his disbelief in the afterlife. 
 
 





 




This is a statue at Fort McHenry of Orpheus, Greek god of music and poetry and it's on the cover of “Gods and Heroes,” my novel of linked stories about growing up in Baltimore during the 1960s. In the tradition of  Barry Levinson and John Waters, the novel is filled with quirky characters and local landmarks such as Fort McHenry, the Belvedere Hotel, Memorial Stadium, and an amusement park on the bay called Tolchester Beach. Set in a blue collar neighborhood of the city, it follows two characters from childhood through adolescence into adulthood as they attempt to wrench meaning from adversity and find happiness together despite their differences. The story is unfolds cinematically, with short chapters told from several points of view. Both tender and humorous, blasphemous and profound, it offers a provocative look at love, sex, religion, ethnicity, and social status.
 
To order an e-book of this work, go to the following website:

             http://booklocker.com/books/5875.html


 

            Look, Don't Look!


This collection of one-act plays includes comedy, satire, dark comedy and drama. All of the works are royalty free, with small casts plus minimum set and technical requirements. They range in length from 3 to 30 minutes, but most are ten minutes long. The volume includes a three character satire entitled "Rapture" which was given a public reading by the Baltimore Playwrights Festival and a thirty minute drama entitled "Absolution" which has been produced by several community theatre groups.

                                                                                           

To order a copy of Look, Don't Look! go to http://booklocker.com/books/8315.html



 
 
 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR
A native of Baltimore, Gerard Marconi earned a master's degree in Drama from Catholic University and taught theater at the college level for twenty years before completing a second master's degree in Humanities at Johns Hopkins University. He was head of the Communication, Humanities, and Arts department at Frederick Community College, where he introduced the college's first online course in Humanities. He also conducted field trips for adults and college students to museums and theaters in Washington, Baltimore, London, and Florence, Italy.

After retiring from full-time teaching, he attended a summer program at the Iowa Writers Workshop and studied fiction writing in seminars or workshops with such well known authors as Lee K. Abbott, Roxana Robinson, Jennifer Haigh, and T. Greenwood. Since then his short stories have appeared in The Chattahoochee Review, The Tuscarora Review,The Summerset Review, and Mayday, an online magazine published by New American Press. Non-fiction works include an essay in Urbanite Magazine and a book review in what weekly, a local e-zine. He lives in the historic Federal Hill neighborhood of Baltimore, where he spends time writing and rediscovering the city where he grew up.


HERE ARE TWO OF MY FAVORITE QUOTES BY OTHER CONTEMPORARY WRITERS OF FICTION.

"Every day I awaken to the mystery of consciousness and the perplexity of mortality."  T. C Boyle

"To experience beauty on earth, you need to experience pain and know mortality."  Matt Haig


READ THE NEXT SECTIONS TO DISCOVER MORE ABOUT MY WORK AND OTHER BALTIMORE WRITERS.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Website Builder