Baltimore Writer

Home Page

My name is Gerard Marconi. I am the author of short stories, a novel, and one-act plays. 
The plays have recently been published under the title "Look, Don't Look!" and you can read a synopsis of them in the One-Act Play section of this website. In 2014 my
collection of short stories entitled "Searching for Paradise" was awarded the Best Short Fiction prize by the editors of the Self Publishing Review. Here is a quote from their review of the book.
 
"Stories haunt and grow, much like the prose itself. It's a difficult genre to succeed in, and here Marconi has got it spot on and even found a new way of doing it right… one of the few male writers in my opinion who seems to express his entire inner world with some intuition."

You can read the complete review at:
 
http://www.selfpublishingreview.com/spr-awards-2014/04/review-searching-for-paradise-by-gerard-marconi

"Searching for Paradise" is a collection of humorous and thought provoking short stories. The image on the cover depicts Adam and Eve being tempted by a human headed serpent in the Garden of Paradise, a 16th century terra cotta relief from the Walters Art Museum in Baltimore. Some of the stories are about the search for immortality and the divine. Others are about the creation of art and the imitation of nature. Some are about the yearning of the human heart for love and understanding, while others deal with what happens when we experience the opposite. A museum guard helps capture a thief even as he dreams of stealing a famous painting. An anthropologist seeks to unravel the mystery of an ancient fertility figure while coping with his own flagging libido. A zealous young man tries to convert a gay couple just before the Apocalypse. Andy Warhol recalls his childhood but forgets to wear his silver wig on his last trip to the hospital. And Samuel Beckett finds himself in hell despite his disbelief in the afterlife. But most of the stories are about ordinary people searching for meaning in their everyday lives.
 
 





 


Feel free to contact me with comments or questions at the following
:
gerard@baltimorewriter.com.

 




You can read a free sample of Gods and Heroes at
http://booklocker.com/books/5875.html

This image is a statue at Fort McHenry of Orpheus, Greek god of music and poetry. It is on the cover of “Gods and Heroes,” a novel of linked stories about growing up in Baltimore during the 1960s. In the tradition of  Barry Levinson and John Waters, the novel is filled with quirky characters and local landmarks such as Fort McHenry, the Belvedere Hotel, Memorial Stadium, and an amusement park on the bay called Tolchester Beach. Set in a blue collar neighborhood of the city, it follows two unforgettable characters from childhood through adolescence into adulthood as they attempt to wrench meaning from adversity and find happiness together despite their differences. The appeal of the story is universal and it unfolds cinematically, with short chapters told from several points of view. Both tender and humorous, blasphemous and profound, it offers a provocative look at love, sex, religion, ethnicity, and social status.

Look, Don't Look!
This collection of one-act plays includes satire, comedy, dark comedy and drama. All of the works are royalty free, with small casts plus minimum set and technical requirements. They range in length from 3 to 30 minutes, but most are ten minutes long. For more details and two one-act samples, go to the following website:
http://booklockercom/books/8315.html



 
 
 



ABOUT THE AUTHOR
I was born and raised in Baltimore around the time this picture of the inner harbor was taken. After graduating from Loyola High School I earned a master's degree in Drama from Catholic University and taught theater at the college level. After completing a second master's degree at Johns Hopkins University, I served as head of the Communication, Humanities, and Arts department at Frederick Community College, where I introduced the college's first online course in Humanities. I have also conducted field trips for adults and college students to museums and theaters in Washington, Baltimore, London, and Florence, Italy.

I began my writing career by attending a summer program at the Iowa Writers Workshop and studying fiction writing in seminars or workshops with such well known authors as Lee K. Abbott, Roxana Robinson, Jennifer Haigh, and T. Greenwood. Since then my short stories have appeared in The Chattahoochee Review, The Tuscarora Review,The Summerset Review, and Mayday, an online magazine published by New American Press. My  non-fiction works include an essay in Urbanite magazine and a book review in what weekly, a local e-zine. I now live in the historic Federal Hill neighborhood of Baltimore and spend my time writing and rediscovering the city where I grew up.

READ THE NEXT SECTIONS TO DISCOVER MORE ABOUT MY WORK AND THAT OF OTHER BALTIMORE WRITERS.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Website Builder